PDA

View Full Version : Kakut lake alberta going on thursday

bruce44
07-15-2009, 05:17 AM
never been i heard it better shore fishing than swan so im checking it out. Im using a mepps aglia spinner what do you think of using lures in that lake will i get stuck alot. How is the fishing offshore

GummyMonster
07-15-2009, 08:38 PM
Hey bruce,
I'm no trout expert, but i've been to Kakut a few times.
The fishing is actually in a big stocked pond right next to the lake.I have been using flies and a bobber with good luck. Black flies with a bit of red seem to be best in the last month or so.
To be honest, I havent tried hard tackle but have been told that spinners and pickerel rigs work well.
Weeds are a little thick next to shore but are only 10 -12 feet out, so casting past them is no problem.
I have been told there are pike in the lake but I cannot vouch for this.
the campground is basic but well kept, with a decent play area for kids.

Hope this helps and good luck to you.
:evilgrin:Ken:evilgrin:

exportblue
07-16-2009, 11:08 AM
hey guys i keep hearing about this lake where abouts is it, i would like to check it out. Must be close to gp. help me out please

bruce44
07-16-2009, 11:15 AM
hey guys i keep hearing about this lake where abouts is it, i would like to check it out. Must be close to gp. help me out please

you live here in gp so i assume you know where sexsmith is. Get on highway 2 thats the highway heading towards clairmont stay on that highway and drive past sexsmith until you see a turnoff on your left called woking do not turn off there just keep going about another 1km and on the right you will see a sign hwy 677 turn down there and keep following it you will see a sign saying the lakes turnoff the turnoff is on the left. If you get to range road 41 you went too far you will know because if you go too far you will end up at a 3 way intersection where you have to go left or right

Hunter Trav
07-16-2009, 11:17 AM