PDA

View Full Version : Leech season

Freedom55
05-03-2020, 08:45 AM
I soaked my traps at my favorite beaver pond over-night for the first time this year and was rewarded with 6 jumbos per tin. And 6 large per tin. Plus a handful of smalls that went back. I left the traps in to soak before I replenish the liver this evening, something I've never tried before.

If it goes as well as last year, I can save a couple of hundred dollars on bait and if I can get some more aluminium I might get enough to trade.

I use printer's tin from the local newspaper in case you wondered.

Free

WayneChristie
05-03-2020, 08:52 AM
got any pics of your traps? Ive only tried leeches once, I could trap them right at work even

Freedom55
05-03-2020, 09:09 AM
I can't send photos on this platform. Best I can do is describe my units.

A tin made from alum. flashing, accordion folded in such a way as to make two pockets on one side and one on the other. I clamp one end shut with a key split-ring and the other with a 15' cord and float. I put fresh liver in each pocket and clip them shut with a single large paper clip near the centre. My pieces are 2' x 3' before folding and 6" x 3' when done.

Toss them into the water along side the reeds/weeds and secure the float to the bank. The beavers will try to carry them off. Typically I pull them about sun-up but this day I am leaving them in.

Last year's freezer burned liver will not work in my experience and you must use a pond that doesn't freeze solid to the bottom mud. Good luck

Dark Wing
05-03-2020, 09:36 AM
Last spring I did really well trapping leeches. I drilled a bunch of leech sized holes in a coffee can , tossed a few fresh chopped up minnows in it and left it over night. Came back early the next morning and the trap was loaded , it even had riders on the top.

WayneChristie
05-03-2020, 10:15 AM