PDA

View Full Version : What are you using for walleye fishing line

-JR-
06-14-2020, 10:51 AM
So its time to change fishing line for the new season for walleye jigging.
Was going with either 8 or 10 Lb mono .

What brand are you using for walleye jigging ?
Any thing new on the market this year ?

jwelds191
06-14-2020, 11:00 AM
So its time to change fishing line for the new season for walleye jigging.
Was going with either 8 or 10 Lb mono .

What brand are you using for walleye jigging ?
Any thing new on the market this year ?

Don't know about new line on the market, I've been running off the same spool for a good 4 or 5 years now.

Sufix 10lb braided line, then 6 or 8 lb fluorocarbon leader about 5' long. The rig walleye jigging dreams are made of.

walleyechaser
06-14-2020, 11:19 AM
10lb power pro and 10 lb seaguar fluoro leader. Dont really need anything new as it works well.

If there is a lot of pike or sharp rocks then bump the leader up to 20lb

-JR-
06-14-2020, 11:25 AM
i just find braided line likes to twist as i just tie on directly to the jig head.

walleyechaser
06-14-2020, 11:32 AM
i just find braided line likes to twist as i just tie on directly to the jig head.

The fluoro leader would help.

pinelakeperch
06-14-2020, 01:40 PM
Are you guys tying your fluoro directly to the braid or using a swivel?

walleyechaser
06-14-2020, 01:47 PM

Depends on the situation. If you want no twist use a small swivel, when ripping cranks or shiver minnows etc. If vertical jigging I use fg knot braid to fluoro.

WayneChristie
06-14-2020, 02:56 PM
I like to do things differently :bad_boys_20: got all my big eyes on heavy braid, except a couple. When I fly fish for them I just use 8 or 9 feet of 20 pound fluoro leader tied to the fly line and tie my fly to that. then again I get most after dark or in mud so visibility doesnt matter as much, at least for me.

Iceman80
06-14-2020, 03:06 PM