PDA

View Full Version : Love my shimano's...

robert
08-06-2009, 03:54 PM
Last time I went to the nsr, I lost the hold down for the spool assembly on my Shimano CX4000RB - just a little upsetting cause it's my favorite reel and i've been using it for 7 years now. Not an expensive reel but a great little caster.

Went out and bought a shimano solstace 4000FI to replace it, spooled up with 15LB berkley braid with mono backing and what a replacement it is. Great bang for the buck reel - I love my shimano's :)

Was told to go to the reel doctor for parts for my old 4000RB and I was fixed up in minutes, new spool and hold down - 18 bucks. Great service, I must say. Even got some lure suggestions out of the deal.

SuCraM
08-06-2009, 04:01 PM
Last time I went to the nsr, I lost the hold down for the spool assembly on my Shimano CX4000RB - just a little upsetting cause it's my favorite reel and i've been using it for 7 years now. Not an expensive reel but a great little caster.

Went out and bought a shimano solstace 4000FI to replace it, spooled up with 15LB berkley braid with mono backing and what a replacement it is. Great bang for the buck reel - I love my shimano's :)

Was told to go to the reel doctor for parts for my old 4000RB and I was fixed up in minutes, new spool and hold down - 18 bucks. Great service, I must say. Even got some lure suggestions out of the deal.

Agree 100 percent I just replace my old rod and reel with a sojorn rod and 2500 Solstace reel and I love it. Very nice setup.

Izumi
08-06-2009, 04:19 PM
I got a 2500R and also run 15 lbs braided. I love it, Shimano reels are great, last forever and always work.

I do have one thing I dislike about it. The Quickfire system (which i don't use) requires the reel to return to the start position (will turn backwards). So if your jigging with this reel you need to make sure the reel has turned back to this point or when you go to set the hook, it will unspool a few cm then lock.