PDA

View Full Version : Strikemaster or Ion for 10” auger

GWS
11-04-2020, 04:55 PM
Just wondering which auger you would recommend? Reviews I have seen are generally positive for both.
Thanks

Poppa
11-04-2020, 05:04 PM
Everything I've ever seen says they're both good....but here's all the info you need:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siyfl58LtyY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBtgHo5vrPQ

Just info, no shilling for either company. Jay Siemens is a beauty!

pikeman06
11-04-2020, 05:30 PM
I got an old magnum strikemaster 10 inch. Sheez a workhorse. Slower auger spin than my jiffies but she blows thru the ice like nobodies buisness. I sharpen my own blades never had an issue.

RavYak
11-04-2020, 05:43 PM
Neither. If you want a 10 inch auger buy a good gas or propane model.

The electric augers are good in 8 inch model and especially thinner ice but 10 inch auger and thick ice later in the year is a bad combination unless you usually only drill a handful of holes.

SNAPFisher
11-04-2020, 06:47 PM
10 inch Strikemaster, you are fine. Late season as well. Even drilled 40 or so in slush ice late season. Went through a battery but barely needed the 2nd one. Lots of other anglers tried out the 10 that day because they couldn't believe it. This was up at Sandy Lake - past Calling - 2 years ago.

Looks like the lack of experience and "myths" are starting already. :rolleye2:
Experience speaks.

RavYak
11-04-2020, 07:57 PM
Since I didn't really answer your question, if you are set on a 10 inch electric then get the Strikemaster. It is superior to the 10 inch ion.