PDA

View Full Version : Worms in whites

Cold lake guy
12-20-2020, 04:11 PM
So I’m a white fish rookie, I keep reading about tape worms in white fish but I see on here everybody is into catching them.... do you have to worry about the worms?

Smoky buck
12-20-2020, 04:30 PM
You can find worms in any species of fish. It is less to do with the species and more to do with the parasite being present in the body of water

I have seen worms in trout, bass, carp, perch and pike as well

Cold lake guy
12-20-2020, 04:58 PM
So true, never seen them in pike but if they are in the food source I’m sure they are there.:thinking-006:

AlbertanGP
12-20-2020, 05:09 PM
Pike are a different part of the life cycle of that particular parasite. ;)

Triaenophorous Tapeworm in Alberta (https://open.alberta.ca/dataset/b9cc827d-d073-4a46-ad53-25c6ac5eb929/resource/ab21a349-f33c-4d56-8069-4b5be8c485d1/download/triaenophorous-2004.pdf)

Cold lake guy
12-20-2020, 05:58 PM
Very informative thx:sHa_shakeshout:

buckman
12-22-2020, 10:28 AM
So true, never seen them in pike but if they are in the food source I’m sure they are there.:thinking-006:

The Pike in Glenmore Reservoir are often loaded with round worms in the stomach.

fishinguy99
12-22-2020, 10:53 AM
Are those the same worms that are on the outside of whitefish sometimes? Saw a lot of them on the whitefish I caught at sylvan last week

chucklesthe3rd
12-22-2020, 11:39 AM
Summer Newell whites are loaded with worms in the stomach and meat. Never really notice them in the winter or spring.

liar
12-22-2020, 11:52 AM
Many years ago i read an article about parasites in fresh water fish . There were a lot more than i was aware of but at the end of the article it was pointed out that none were dangerous for human consumption as long as the fish are cooked .

Stinky Buffalo
12-22-2020, 12:37 PM
Yup, found tapeworms in whites from time to time.

Cook well, and pretend it's Vermicelli! ...er, wormicelli? :lol: