PDA

View Full Version : Teaching guitar.

Bushleague
02-22-2021, 07:26 PM
With extra curricular activities on hold, I bought a small guitar and started teaching my daughters (8 and 10) to play. Being self taught myself, I just got them going the way I started... power chords and songs they actually like, and the results are really starting to take off.

They have a few friends that have taken lessons for a couple years can barely pick their way through "Yankee Doodle", struggle play a few random chords, and worst of all they hate playing. In six months my daughters have learned to play a half dozen songs that they and their friends actually like, and more importantly I dont even need to ask them to practice... they love playing.

So... if you want your kids to play guitar, and can play even a small bit yourself, instead of signing them up for lessons give the Bushleague method a try - Green Day to Nirvana to Tom Petty.

1- Brain Stew... super easy, a great introduction to power chords.
2- Dust on the bottle, almost as easy expands a little on chord positions
3- Hitchin' a Ride... slightly faster strumming pattern
4- Smells like Teen Spirit... building up a grasp of more complicated strumming patterns.
5- Come as You Are, introduction to single notes and simple arpeggios
6- Free Falling, currently working on this one, awesome song to start working on full chords.

RandyBoBandy
02-22-2021, 08:21 PM
:happy0034:

Okotok
02-23-2021, 09:12 AM
Same way I started. Sort of like instant gratification rather than excruciating musical math. Some people thrive on that but not me. Tommy Emmanuel can't read music. Good enough for me! :)

58thecat
02-23-2021, 10:44 AM
yup my daughter taught herself and she has a blast at it....very impressed but I think the key is to enjoy what you do and some are forced to take lessons others just kick back and have fun...fun...fun:sHa_shakeshout:

Bushleague
02-23-2021, 11:54 AM