PDA

View Full Version : Any tips or advice for spring bear?

EdmontonEli
02-25-2021, 08:55 PM
Hey guys.

Just would like to ask for some advice regarding spring bears. I've only done upland and deer hunting, but I've never done a spring bear hunt before.

Any good tips and advice for a newbie on spring bear hunting?

thx

Battle Rat
02-25-2021, 09:44 PM
Evenings are better than morning, but hunt both and nap mid day.
Spot and stalk newer (less than 3 year old) pipelines where food source is fresh and not smothered by old, long grass.
Around mid May(mothers day) is about right.
If you go too early there is not much for new leaves pr dandelions so not much action out in the open.
If you go to late the food source is everywhere so they get spread out more.

KegRiver
02-26-2021, 12:01 AM
How far are you willing to travel?

Serious question, we have a Bear problem.

wildwoods
02-26-2021, 07:37 AM
Bears are relatively easy to find. Google earth is your friend. Find large swaths of crown land and look for lots of pipelines you can spot and stalk. Drive around, spot bear, kill bear. It’s that simple.

We roll around in a side by side. Evenings are best but we do see bears all day long.

Grizzly Adams
02-26-2021, 08:56 AM
It's too early. :lol:

Grizz

Dick284
02-26-2021, 02:02 PM
Spot and spook, or baiting?

Either way make sure you have a reliable vehicle, good mudder tires, and 4x4 at a minimum. Spring weather means mud, so you best be prepared.

Red Bullets
02-27-2021, 08:43 PM
Bears like hanging around active beaver houses and dams in early spring too. Beaver dams are a good place to check for sign and maybe sit or start a stalk from.

EdmontonEli
03-01-2021, 02:25 PM
How far are you willing to travel?

Serious question, we have a Bear problem.

Unfortunately, 4 hours from Edmonton is the furthest I'll go for now. It might change depending on my work schedule

Spot and spook, or baiting?