PDA

View Full Version : Low and slow beef roast

Tungsten,
02-27-2021, 09:00 AM
I have a rib roast that I’d like to try on my bbq. A few weeks back I smokes my first brisket. I’d like to employ some of the techniques like low temp 180f ish.
Will this dry my roast right out?
The wrapping in towels and resting for 2 hours really did I nice job on the brisket. Again will this overcook and dry my roast out?
Thanks.

calgarychef
02-27-2021, 09:15 AM
I don’t think so, it’s already tender meat though so really long and low might not be necessary.

For nice roasts in the home oven I like 275-300 degrees. I’m not very experienced with that kind of cooking and smoking though so my opinion is worth what you paid for it ;).. my experience is put the roast in a $60k dollar oven and come back the next day. I’m always a bit leery of going too slow and having the meat go sour... I like it to come up to temp within a couple hours then sit and rest at holding temp- again totally off topic of what you’re really trying to find out.

Okotok
02-27-2021, 09:23 AM
We've been doing up to 3 lb or so roasts in the air fryer lately. Takes about half an hour. Incredibly good and tender. Top sirloin is all we've done but darned good!

Savage Bacon
02-27-2021, 09:26 AM
I don’t think so, it’s already tender meat though so really long and low might not be necessary.

For nice roasts in the home oven I like 275-300 degrees. I’m not very experienced with that kind of cooking and smoking though so my opinion is worth what you paid for it ;).. my experience is put the roast in a $60k dollar oven and come back the next day. I’m always a bit leery of going too slow and having the meat go sour... I like it to come up to temp within a couple hours then sit and rest at holding temp- again totally off topic of what you’re really trying to find out.

Did you pick that oven up at ikea by chance? :sHa_sarcasticlol:

Tungsten,
02-27-2021, 09:31 AM