PDA

View Full Version : A Terrible Hunting Season Takes a Good Turn

sns2
11-13-2021, 11:59 AM
Well fellas my hunting season up until yesterday sucked. Some of you may recall I'm a Lab guy. In my opinion, and others who compete at a high level, I have a pretty special dog. He was passing Master Tests at two, and I'm a rookie Lab trainer.

My season came to a screeching halt on opening weekend when he came up lame after our first hunt. This had happened sporadically in the last year, so off to the vets we go. Xrays showed a torn ACL in his rear leg which requires TPLO surgery. Not feeling comfortable with my corner vet, I asked for a referral to a surgeon who specializes in this procedure.

He examined my best pal, and felt the tear was partial, and that he was a good candidate for a newer procedure called platelet rich plasma therapy which if successful would avoid him going under the knife. We scheduled it, and had it done. Two weeks later... no improvement. Still a 3 legged dog. Surgery was then scheduled which is very similar to a knee replacement in that they use a circular saw to cut off the top of the tibia, rotate it to level the angle of the knee joint, and then bracing it with a 4" metal plate held on with 5 screws. Here's a pic of what was done...

$5100 later we began a lengthy rehab.

This torpedoed hunting season, as my son had one week previous purchased a GSP pup. So I have a gimped dog that requires vigilant care, and a puppy. Heavy sigh.

Anyhow, my 18 yr old drew an antlerless moose tag that I did not want to let go to waste, so we packed both dogs in the back of the Ridgeline and headed out yesterday morning.

The Good Lord smiled on us, as we had two nice calves literally trot right up to us at sunrise. One well placed headshot from my son's 7 Rem Mag dropped the moose right at the gate into the quarter.

Skinned her yesterday, cutting myself pretty dang good in the process.