PDA

View Full Version : detachable scope mounts

vance
01-16-2022, 11:13 AM
I have no experience with detachable scope mounts, but I am wondering it is possible to use them to allow transfer of a scope between 2 rifles? My hunting rifle and a 223 for off season practice, for example.

Could one record the elevation and windage adjustment clicks to re-zero for the 223 and then reverse it to return to the settings on the 30/06? Confirming this at the range before hunting of course.

The scope was costly, so would love to use it the whole year round.

Vance

catnthehat
01-16-2022, 11:18 AM
If you have identical rails on your rifles there should be no issue at all. The biggest issue is if you have to keep switching the rings forward or back on different bases, ten it is pretty much a moot point .
You can still record your zeroes and be close however .
Cat

vance
01-16-2022, 12:47 PM
Thanks Cat!
I figured so about ring movement on the scope tube. Good to know that this is possible.
I will start looking into ring/base options. I suppose I may need to put a rail on the 223 in order to match the base spacing on the 30/06 action.
Vance

catnthehat
01-16-2022, 12:51 PM
Thanks Cat!
I figured so about ring movement on the scope tube. Good to know that this is possible.
I will start looking into ring/base options. I suppose I may need to put a rail on the 223 in order to match the base spacing on the 30/06 action.
Vance

Yup, same brand of rail and you will be good to go.
I have both Leupold and Zeiss QD mounts , love them!
Cat

vance
01-16-2022, 02:45 PM
Cat,
Would you recommend one brand over the other or buy based on price?
Vance

catnthehat
01-16-2022, 04:05 PM
Cat,
Would you recommend one brand over the other or buy based on price?
Vance

Both work very well. The Leuplods may be a bit less expensive, I can't remember .
Cat

Smokinyotes
01-16-2022, 04:10 PM