PDA

View Full Version : Anybody have a recipe for for gravy from scratch?

Fish along
01-16-2022, 02:00 PM
I really like hot hamburger and poutine, and I'd really like to to have a gravy recipe that I could just make to go with it. I've looked online and can't find anything that tastes better than weiner water,I've tried some of the canned stuff but it's mostly garbage, hopefully someone on here has something,,Thanks..

Greatwest
01-16-2022, 02:47 PM
Have you tried any of the packages where you just add water. Like Clubhouse brand I think Great Value has some packages as well. They are quick and easy and they actually taste pretty good. You said you’ve tried canned stuff but maybe not this stuff. I’ve never tried the canned stuff so can’t comment on it.

Okotok
01-16-2022, 03:13 PM
I've been using this one for a few years. Great on poutine. It's beef gravy so pretty sure it would be great with hot hamburger as well. https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/266892/poutine-gravy/

pdog15
01-16-2022, 04:07 PM
We are finding so many of the commercial bases have way to much salt - mushroom, chicken, celery, even dry pac onion soups. Trying with tomato sauce these days and adding spices to taste. Seems to work better.

gunluvr
01-16-2022, 04:07 PM
I really like hot hamburger and poutine, and I'd really like to to have a gravy recipe that I could just make to go with it. I've looked online and can't find anything that tastes better than weiner water,I've tried some of the canned stuff but it's mostly garbage, hopefully someone on here has something,,Thanks..