PDA

View Full Version : Help with a few things

wadeseward
09-09-2009, 08:02 AM
I am looking for a few tips, I have been learning to flyfish off and on for a few years and have a few questions.

1st- I have a rod tube that holds the od and reel, do you wind the line along with the leader onto your reel and stuff it into the tube or do you cut the leader off and re tie next time out.

2nd- nymphing, what is the best kind of indicator to use, i bought some that look like bouy's and they are like casting a regular spoon when I have a weighted fly, maybe its the combo of both but I have a real tough time getting a good cast.

3rd- Getting a loop in my flyline so that i can do a loop to loop connection on my line and leader.

4th- I use a 9 foot leader and 3 to 4' of tippet is that to long or not long enough?

There's more but I can't recall all the questions I had, Thanks for any help.

mikeym
09-09-2009, 08:48 AM
can help with a few

1) i usually just wind the leader into the reel. cutting off the leader and then re-tying is just more work and i hate tying nail knots. get a leader straightener (basically a piece of leather) in case the leader gets a curl to it from being wound up on the reel

2) i like the yarn indicators. they are light, easy to move around for different depths and easy to make at home also. just need some yarn, rubber o-rings and thread. casting weighted nymphs takes some getting used to. i find that if you slow down your casts and let the nymph do the work, casting is much easier.

3) can'y help you here as i don't use loop to loop connections. try googling it to see what they do

4) sounds good. i use 9 ft leaders (i like 5x or 6x mostly) and about 2 - 3 ft of tippet (again mostly 5x or 6x, sometimes 7x on small streams). i change flies quite a bit so i use longer tippet so i am not re-tying tippet on all the time.

good luck fly-fishing

Mike

Bucky
09-09-2009, 09:12 AM