PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions...

Lawn Man
09-09-2009, 08:09 PM
I am fairly new to fishing. When you catch a keeper, should you kill it right away or keep it alive untill you go in to shore? Also, what is the best way to kill a fish before cleaning it. I feel so barbaric wacking it.

WayneChristie
09-09-2009, 08:10 PM
whack away, we are all barbarians under the skin. Law says kill it right away if you intend on keeping it. may want to remove the gills to slow spoilage tho.

DarkAisling
09-09-2009, 08:16 PM
Yeah, I don't like whackin' them either. Needs to be done, though. I dislike seeing fish flopping around and "gasping" even more than I dislike whackin' them.

I've got a little fish "bat" that I keep in my tackle box: very handy, and means I don't have to go hunting for a rock. The bat's a "panfish" size, so it might not be particularly effective on a bigger fish.

Fishfinder
09-09-2009, 08:21 PM
True Wayne. Also, if u figure ur gonna catch bigger fish later on to fry, let ur catch go. Do not hang on to a fish unless u intend to eat it as I am sure u know. As far as eating goes, catch n bonk, jus be sure ur bonkers are ur keepers. I personally have always found, young - mid age fish are much better eats than old frys. IMO. Fish on :)

rustynailz
09-09-2009, 08:21 PM
Just tear through the little piece of cartilage on the bottom of the fish right under the gills. They bleed out really quickly.

The faster you get the entrails and blood out of the fish the better they taste IMO.

fishstix
09-09-2009, 08:52 PM
dont even get me started on this one! I dont even swat mosquitoes!

Fishfinder
09-09-2009, 09:00 PM
dont even get me started on this one! I dont even swat mosquitoes!I will get u started. Get the bug b4 thr bug gets u:lol:

Rick.
09-09-2009, 09:20 PM
I prefer a lethal injection but then I'm always scared to eat the fish after. LOL Truthfully, I only keep a few per year but if your going to keep it, kill it as quickly as you can. Rick.

Geezle