PDA

View Full Version : Sharpen Ice Auger Blades

Mark
04-10-2022, 12:29 PM
This year it seemed like it was taking a real long time for my auger to cut through the ice. Then I realized these blades have not ever been sharpen and I've been fishing for about 6 years with this auger. So, I think its time for me to sharpen my ice auger blades. :sHa_shakeshout:

Can anybody recommend a good place to take the blades in for sharpening in the Calgary or Medicine Hat area?

Thanks in advance.

Dubious
04-10-2022, 12:36 PM
My dad uses a bench grinder with a fabric polishing wheel and some buffing paste it works really well on our ice augers even if the blades are toasted from sand rocks and grit. I wouldn’t pay to get them done vs just doing it that way if you have the tooling. https://youtu.be/ehItnNqI_7k

calgarygringo
04-10-2022, 12:37 PM
Northside Carbide Saw on Bowness Road and deep south go to Okotoks to Foothills Sharpening. Both do a bang up job on auger blades and wont take you to the cleaners.

calgarygringo
04-10-2022, 12:39 PM
Only do it this way if you know what you are doing. If you gwt the angle off they will not cut after unless you do Macgyver fixes like addig shims etc which tells you you did them wrong. If you are good at it knick your socks off. For the small cost most if the folks I know just drop them off and get them done knowing they are good to go.

My dad uses a bench grinder with a fabric polishing wheel and some buffing paste it works really well on our ice augers even if the blades are toasted from sand rocks and grit. There’s YouTube videos of the strategy, I wouldn’t pay to get them done vs just doing it that way if you have the tooling.

Dubious
04-10-2022, 12:56 PM