PDA

View Full Version : What flies to use in fall for rainbow

bruce44
09-11-2009, 05:51 AM
So i heard the chironomids or bloodworms wouldnt work in the fall because its too late in the season for them. So what do you guys suggest for rainbow trout here in grande prairie. I just got my first fly rod for my birthday and im kinda new to fall fishing. I only used to fish for spring or summer i have never tried fall. Any suggestions.

notagoodtroutfisher
09-11-2009, 06:03 AM
if it's still warm out, there is still geasshoppers. try a foam hopper with a dropper

notagoodtroutfisher
09-11-2009, 06:05 AM
http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=41085

bruce44
09-11-2009, 07:07 AM
i dont know what i would put as the dropper though but the grasshopper is a good idea by itself. There have been hundreds of grasshoppers all over here. The hot weather really helps them multiply.

Rick.
09-11-2009, 07:59 AM
One excellent fall pattern is a boatman. You never said if your fishing rivers or lakes and it does make a difference. Chironomids hatch year round so i don't know why they would not work. Streamers are a lot of fun if the fish will move to them. Rick.

bruce44
09-11-2009, 08:09 AM
One excellent fall pattern is a boatman. You never said if your fishing rivers or lakes and it does make a difference. Chironomids hatch year round so i don't know why they would not work. Streamers are a lot of fun if the fish will move to them. Rick.

Im fishing in swan lake alberta. I was told chironomids only hatch in springand that using them now is to late. stupid tackle salesman. Anyways its a stock lake that only 15 feet deep at the most so im waiting for the algae bloom to go down.

Kingfisher
09-11-2009, 02:55 PM