PDA

View Full Version : Skunked at the Bow for a 3rd time now

slickinfinite
09-25-2009, 01:53 PM
In the last week I've fished 3 times in the spot where I have been having good luck and been getting nothing. I also notice much less fish are jumping but some still are.

I am still new to Alberta fishing and am wondering what this time of year is like on the Bow? I pretty much always use spoons and the occasional mepps spinner/rooster tail and just not getting any action these last few trips.

Is it spawn time? Could the fish have moved somewhere else? My spot I think is an awsome spot to, a nice drop off near shore which extends to the pumphouse and goes at least 15 feet deep if not deeper. Any input is greatly appreciated.

1 more question to, I have a copy of the fishing regs and cant figure out where the Bow river catch limits are? Can I keep brown trout as that seems to be all I catch at my spot?

DANOMAN
09-25-2009, 03:36 PM
well i lived in calgary for 30 years before moving to ontario now i miss the bow big time the bow is good all year long never a bad time on the bow sometimes the trout are hard to catch but never give up i was having good luck on panther martins the holographics series they are hard to find but the fishing store east of chinook mall they have some if not there is a new pro bass opening in your area they will have them. The bow river south of marquis de lorne trail or 22x as it was known as before is the best for browns and rainbows. If your into a cruise the town of carsland alberta just past the town turnoff under that bridge if you go to the right where the store is on the right of the bridge as your coming to it follow that gravel road to the weir theres all kinds of trout there and if your really into it i can tell you where my honey hole was lol !! Be careful about keeping trout read your regs be sure !! good luck and tight line!!!,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Dano

save a trout eat a chicken

slickinfinite
09-25-2009, 09:12 PM