PDA

View Full Version : Fish Finders ???

Tuc
09-30-2009, 06:56 PM
I am looking to buy a fish finder...

I have no experience with these things nor do I know what to buy. How about a few suggestions from some of you who own one.

Model and approx price too...Thx!

fishstix
09-30-2009, 08:18 PM
Hi Tuc
I fish rivers and streams. I dont have a fish finder per say, but i do have an underwater digital camera and video recorder. Its a fujifilm z33 waterproof. When im at a hole i press record on the video recorder and do an underwater panoramic sweep of the spot. Then i hold it up and press play. It isnt real time but i do get a good look at whats(fish) in there.
Ive got some great video of my last bull trout in the highwood. (23inch)

jrcw
09-30-2009, 11:35 PM
My vote is for a Lowrance. As far as what features you want, that's entirely dependant on how and where you intend to use it and how much you want to spend.

uicehole
10-01-2009, 01:31 AM
Help us help you. Give us some idea of what kind of usage you intend - boat, kayak, canoe, fixed, portable, GPS function, etc. No fishfinder is perfect, you'll have to decide what you want out of it and what its worth to you.

What was important to me in no particular order.
- portable - I interchange between my float tube, pontoon boat, zebec and icefishing.
- able to accept a sealed lead acid or gel cell battery
- able to hook up to a boat battery - 12V.
- transducer shape had to be wide and the cord not sticking out from the middle so I can wedge it underneath my float tube seat.
- cost
- black & white - for better battery life.

I ended up with an Eagle Fishmark 320. Price is just over $300 with the hard portable kit in Calgary but I got a unit from Cabela's with a soft case and battery for $250. Still seemed like a lot of money.

spopadyn
10-01-2009, 09:38 AM