PDA

View Full Version : Motor for my inflatable?

fishmania
10-08-2009, 05:54 PM
I need advice on a motor for my Seyvlor 9.2ft Fishfinder inflatable
I was looking at electric motors Canadian T have some on sale 32lb for $99
or a 38lb $129 or spend a bit more for a Minn Kota?

Also a local shop that rebuilds outboard motor is trying to sell me a rebuilt 2.5HP gas motor $400.Its only 26lbs a lot lighter than a electric with the battery as batteries are what about 30-35lbs alone plus the the electric motor 20lbs

Im new to all this stuff and want to make the right purchase the first time
What to get???

WayneChristie
10-08-2009, 06:02 PM
your boat operators license :)

fishmania
10-08-2009, 06:11 PM
Ya Ill be getting that too:tongue2:

Clgy_Dave2.0
10-08-2009, 06:21 PM
I need advice on a motor for my Seyvlor 9.2ft Fishfinder inflatable
I was looking at electric motors Canadian T have some on sale 32lb for $99
or a 38lb $129 or spend a bit more for a Minn Kota?

Also a local shop that rebuilds outboard motor is trying to sell me a rebuilt 2.5HP gas motor $400.Its only 26lbs a lot lighter than a electric with the battery as batteries are what about 30-35lbs alone plus the the electric motor 20lbs

Im new to all this stuff and want to make the right purchase the first time
What to get???

Go for the electric. I got the 30/30 Bass Pro motor for $99 and it works awesome. If you go Gas..then you've just limited yourself out of those "electric motor only" lakes. Plus the gas powered needs a gas tank, line etc. You cant just toss it into the back of your car. Electric by far. 32lb Canadian tire one will be more than enough power for a 9 foot inflatable. I've never gone above 3 on mine (top speed is 5)

WayneChristie
10-08-2009, 06:25 PM
Ive owned a 4 HP outboard, and now have an electric, for my canoe. I would pick the electric anyday, even if it was just for the lack of noise and pollution, it makes your time on the water just that much better.

fishmania