PDA

View Full Version : Trolling surface?

bcboy
10-16-2009, 07:07 AM
When I'm trolling this time of year,I'll use no weight,only Rapala lure,and target the fish at the surface. They are very active now so don't think I need to go deeper.
Here's my question.
I had at least a dozen 'hits' last weekend but none took the hook. yes,hooks are sticky sharp.
Could a lure that is meant to fish under surface not be effective AT the surface?
I'm pretty new to trolling and not too sure what I'm doing.

thanks..

bcboy
10-16-2009, 05:03 PM
Thanks for the PM Victor. I know it's not worded too well but it was early this morning and I got called out to a real bad accident at 2am. and never really got back to sleep. But thanks for the info and I'll try it out tommorrow. :)

jrcw
10-16-2009, 06:04 PM
Not clear on the details of your tactics or target, but a stinger hook can help with short strikes. Experiment with hooks and line lengths.

bcboy
10-16-2009, 06:12 PM
I'm targeting rainbow trout and trying to troll with a 4" rapala lure. The fish were breaking surface like crazy so I tried to keep lure near/at surface. I have be sent some very useful tips from another fellow and hope to be more successful tommorrow morning.
Thank you for your tips as well. :)

fisherwoman
11-03-2009, 01:09 AM
I'm targeting rainbow trout and trying to troll with a 4" rapala lure. The fish were breaking surface like crazy so I tried to keep lure near/at surface. I have be sent some very useful tips from another fellow and hope to be more successful tommorrow morning.

To be honest I have never tried that method, but I have good luck with rainbows when I troll a small to medium spinner. I put it pretty far out there, and troll as fast as the trolling motor will go. Depending on the shape of the spinner the lure can be fished near the surface or deeper. Thats what works for me, happy fishing!

dodger
11-03-2009, 05:02 AM