PDA

View Full Version : How to hunt badgers?

Islander
07-03-2007, 08:48 PM
I was out yesterday asking for gopher permission for myself and the boy, and stumbled across a couple of goldmines. First guy basically asked me to hunt deer and coyote on his 1 and a 1/4 section, near Cochrane( not yet sure about the deer regs there. I am still in bear mode after a successful spring , and haven't really looked up regs for deer. Can you guys tell that i'm new to Alberta yet? More stuck on bears than deer. Go figure.) If its draw there for deer, I'm SOL as I didn't put in. Anyhow, second guy has several sections, and he said to have at er for gopher, coyote, fox and badger. While the boy and I walked around slaughtering the cannibalistic little rodents (nearly 100 of them, til we ran out of shells) we noticed a ton of badger holes. How do I go about stacking the odds in my favor to get one of these guys? Any info on hunting methods would be greatly appreciated. Oh yeah, sometime soon I'll post my bear pics. Not a hog, but I'll take him for my first Alberta bear. 5'10 nose to tail, 225-240 lbs, 17 1/2" skull. Young lanky boar. Got him south of GP, on a weekend trip from Calgary, taken with my buddies .270 at 75 yrds after an unsuccessful bow stalk. As for badgers, any info will help. Thanks, Islander

GrtWht
07-03-2007, 09:42 PM
Islander, I spend a lot of time hunting west of Cochrane, It is a great area for deer. Mulie is draw, but antlered elk and whitetail are general (I'm speaking of WMU 314) There are some real hog Mulies out there and I hope to draw a tag for one this year. As far as the Badgers go they are fairly hard to come by. The best time to see them is late in the day like at dusk. Good luck with the hunt this fall.

Bushmaster
07-04-2007, 06:38 AM