PDA

View Full Version : Lac La Biche Elementary School Needs Your Help!

Rob Miskosky
11-03-2009, 10:56 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a phys ed teacher in Lac La Biche, AB. I teach at an elementary school called "Vera M. Welsh". My handle here is LacLaBicheNS (http://outdoorsmenforum.ca/member.php?u=4552).

This year I am trying to organize an ice-fishing trip for my 100+ grade 3 students. I would like this trip to become an annual event and in the future also include the 100+ grade 2 students at our school.

I hope to make this trip happen in February on Lac La Biche itself. We would be targeting perch and with some luck a pike or two. Each class of 22-23 kids will go one or two times for about an hour each time. I haven't worked out all the details yet. I have already recieved the go ahead from the School Board's Superintendant. The trip will include a lot of education on ice/fishing and winter safety as well as education on wildlife conservation.

Our School Board does not have the money to fund such things so I am asking for everyone's help to donate some items that will help make this trip happen.

I'm in need of:
- about 25 ice-fishing rods (can be home made or cheapies!)
- 25 reels for these rods (I want to stick to spinning reels for ease of use)
- 4-6lbs test mono line
- small perch jigs
- needle nose pliers (I need at least 3 or 4 more pairs)
- ice laddles (our 25 holes will need to be cleaned often)
- gas auger
- anything else that you can think of that we could use!!

I don't think anyone would donate these items but maybe someone in the Lac La Biche area would let us borrow them:

- one or two large wall tents (for safety the students must stay in wall tents during the trip)
- a way to heat the wall tents (preferably propane due to asthma and other respiratory conditions)

Any equipment donated will become property of Vera Welsh school. And anyone who donates will recieve a thank you card with hopefully a picture of the day we go fishing.