PDA

View Full Version : hummingbird ice 55

sportster
01-26-2010, 01:13 PM
i'm new to the flasher thing and am looking for input on the ice 55. likes, dislikes

kinwahkly
01-26-2010, 03:11 PM
pm

75ft Arborist
01-26-2010, 07:45 PM
i was going to get one, but heard they cant pick up your jigs in deeper water. I might think about the Marcum LX5. At least thats what everyone is saying

kinwahkly
01-26-2010, 08:46 PM
Mine picks up small jigs very well, I was at Spray last weekend and I dropped a single maggot down the hole in 60 feet of water and it was picked up by my flasher all the way to the bottom, very powerful

CanadianEh
01-26-2010, 09:21 PM
I have a Marcum LX-5 and I have to say I love it. I have not used any other flashers, but I have done LOTS and LOTS of research about them. and pretty much the consensus is that for all around features, quality and power for a good price the marcum usually comes out on top.

I did look at the hummingbird quite a bit, and i love the look of the unit and the display. 6 color looks great.

I used my lx-5 today and it halped us land 6 nice bull trout. 3 of which were hooked in about 45 FOW when bottom was 70 feet. it picked them up and was able to reel up to get them to bite.

pikester
01-26-2010, 10:28 PM
Mine picks up small jigs very well, I was at Spray last weekend and I dropped a single maggot down the hole in 60 feet of water and it was picked up by my flasher all the way to the bottom, very powerful

Had that happen to me last weekend too, without a hook in it! How painful it is to watch that maggot head to the bottom at the speed of a snail just knowing that somewhere along the way something was going to slurp it in!

pikester
01-26-2010, 10:35 PM
i'm new to the flasher thing and am looking for input on the ice 55. likes, dislikes