PDA

View Full Version : Fishing around Calgary

horton213
03-15-2010, 11:24 AM
Hello,
Im new to fishing but would like to get into it. Does anyone have any suggestions on good spots to fish. I tried upstream from glenmore bridge by Beaver dam flats.. I used a red and white spoon.. didnt catch anything.. I just have a normal rod,, not fly fishing..
Where is a good spot and what are some good lures?? Thanks in advance!!
Chris

tonyflyfish
03-15-2010, 11:46 AM
go to search on here and search "google maps". JTS has a map on here with many sports all over Alberta including the Calgary area.

DarkAisling
03-15-2010, 11:52 AM
Welcome, Horton.

What fish would you like to target?

FishingForLife
03-15-2010, 11:57 AM
I don't wanna give away all my hot spots.
Click this, Hope It Helps

http://www.fishalberta.com/02Season/calgary/aroundcalgary.htm#Carburn%20Park%20Pond

tacklerunner
03-15-2010, 11:57 AM
Moved to Calgary in 1994. Started flyfishing very soon after on the Bow. But went once and threw out a yellow Panther Martin spinner and a regular rod and caught an 18" rainbow. Maybe try some Mepps too. Also if you don't flyfish, you can use a bobber and a fly. Go to a fishing store and they will tell you what to use for flies at different times of the year based on the hatches.

Hope this helps. You will have success.

horton213
03-15-2010, 02:58 PM
I dont really care what kind of fish i catch, whatever is easiest i guess lol.. thanks for the replies!

aulrich
03-15-2010, 03:51 PM
To start pick up the "guide to alberta fishing" any store with decent outdoors mags should have it. It has maps and basic desciptions of what is there. If you are stuck to shore lots of the stock trout ponds will work.

But then again there is the Bow, it can be a bit of a bear to learn how to fish it but it is well worth the time. The fishing is better down stream of the wier or more accuratly Bonnie Brook treatment plant.