PDA

View Full Version : Spin or Fly on the Bow?

5Weight
03-17-2010, 10:32 AM
Hi All,

I went to the Bow a couple days ago with my fly rod and didn't do so well. I've been fishing it for a few years now and have started to figure a few things out and usually do okay now. Like any fishing, I've had some spectacular days on the Bow, and I've had some duds. Took a number of trips to learn about the river though, and I know I've only scratched the surface...

Being determined to learn more about fly fishing with every trip, I have only taken my spinning gear to the Bow once (and caught a beauty of a brown on a Rapalla). All the other times, I've only taken the fly gear.

I know others spin fish the Bow regularly and must do well but I don't know. Here's my question:

Spin fishing or fly fishing the Bow? If you enjoy spin fishing, what types of lures do you use?

I'm going to try my luck with the spinning gear this afternoon. I think I'll pack some Rapallas, spinners, jigs, and a couple of spoons, and I think I'll try and target the slow deeper pools.

I'll post a report when I get home tonight.

Cheers,

5W

bubba 96
03-17-2010, 10:54 AM
We fish the bow always on spinning gear, the gear we use are 2 diffrent sizes 5 o diamonds, red and whites, black and white, we have had good luck with most len tompson spoons, and wholesale sports sells these spoons called crocodile spoons the work really well blue silver, brown trout replicas, not the croc spoons by gibbs, but the crocodile spoons by lur jensen..don't really use many rapala's but from what i'v heard then work well. and really any kind of spinners..Bubba

CanadianEh
03-17-2010, 10:58 AM
I am more of spinner fisherman myself... thought I am gearing up for fly fishing this year.