PDA

View Full Version : Concern for Snipe Lake

opto55
03-22-2010, 03:54 PM
Just returned from my first trip to Snipe lake. Great weekend with lots of fish. I have been fishing and hunting in Alberta for more than 4 decades and have observed the mismanagement of bull trout, walleye and moose populations in this province. I am very concerned with this great lake and feel it is headed for collapse. With a limit of 15 perch per day and no closure on March 31st my question is why? This little gem of a lake has just to easy an access and unless limits and closures are introduced the fish populations on this lake will suffer the same fate as the bull trout, walleye and moose populations.

Walleye101
03-22-2010, 04:15 PM
I agree 100%

addicted
03-22-2010, 06:34 PM
I counted 100 truck there on saturday give or take afew .... the bite was off!!!!! the lake is big and deep but the pressure is quite great everyone driving and looking for the jumbo perch i talked with a guy from cold lake !!! thats a bit of a drive ..... are there no jumbos in that end of the province or saskabush hmmmm

something needs to be done, but it wont so its up too us as fishermen to control our selves do guys need to go out fish 5 days eating nothing but there limits day after day, fishing and frying over and over. Or locals hitting these lakes 30 40 plus times a year thats a ton of fish.

tatonkagp
03-22-2010, 06:55 PM
I agree there needs to be some fish taken out, to grow bigger fish. I take fish home, but rarely my limit, and always put the really big ones back. The big hens have more eggs. We all know this, I think the only thing we can do is send emails to fish and wildlife voicing our concerns on populations.

opto55
03-22-2010, 08:43 PM
I will be writing a letter to the SRD minister and premier this week voicing my concerns and I would encourage all concerned fisherman to do the same. We must make an effort to preserve this fishery. I want to be able to take my grand kids there some day!