PDA

View Full Version : Barry Mitchell's Alberta Fishing

Fishfull Thinker..
03-28-2010, 10:32 AM
Hello:wave:fellow fisherman,I am new to ther forum & was wodering if the new alberta fishing mag is in stores yet?

keljay
03-28-2010, 10:35 AM
It sure is. I picked one up last week, and I've seen them in lots of stores.

Fishfull Thinker..
03-28-2010, 10:38 AM
Thanks,Just wanted to save a trip,I'm out the door...

nevercatchmuch
03-28-2010, 11:10 AM
I like the magazine but wish it would be updated more often. Although it comes out each year, many of the lakes have the same info they did 8 years ago. Surely the fish sizes, etc. have changed.

Tekan
04-16-2010, 12:56 PM
I like the magazine but wish it would be updated more often. Although it comes out each year, many of the lakes have the same info they did 8 years ago. Surely the fish sizes, etc. have changed.

It has honestly been over a decade since most of that info was updated. Pretty dissapointing, considering I have bought that magazine every year. The maps are probably just as old as the info.
He is more concerned of out west then what he is of us prarie folk, and to think of the money he makes for reprinting the same magazine over and over and over.
Just my two cents.
TEKAN

nicemustang
04-16-2010, 01:02 PM
True, but valuable to have at least one copy. Plus there is usually some good articles in there that I don't mind reading, I buy a few magazines quarterly anyway to read.

Pierre
04-16-2010, 01:18 PM
In the 2003 issue of the AFG, Barry explains:

"One of the most often asked questions is, "Where do you get your information?" The answer's simple. We work damn hard at it. In the 23 years since Ann and I bought Dad's share of the business and went our own way with the magazine, we've not only acquired more than 1000 maps for research, but we've made friends with the provincial fisheries biologists and call them each year to pick their brains about conditions of specific waters in their area.