PDA

View Full Version : Turtle Lake Sask

horton213
03-30-2010, 12:47 PM
Anyone have any info on fishing in Turtle Lake? I will be going there soon.. what type of fish are there? what lures are best ? any info would be great guys.. (im a beginner)

Chris

braxxtonn
03-30-2010, 02:30 PM
the walleye, jack , perch , burbots and whites i think lol
when evr i went there it was strictly walleye fishing theres some nice jacks in there too!!
i like to jig a white double tail with a leech, seems to alwasy work good there

timsesink
03-30-2010, 02:30 PM
The last time I was there it was really sloooooooooooooooooooooooow. You can't go wrong in the spring with some topwater baits in the south facing bays though like anywhere else in spring. Best of uck

nicemustang
03-30-2010, 02:44 PM
i like to jig a white double tail with a leech, seems to alwasy work good there

That works anywhere, universal walleye rig.

Lots of walleye I hear on this lake, although never been myself. Seen many a people with pictures of 10-12 lb eyes.

jeffrey929
03-30-2010, 06:04 PM
Been there quite a few times in the last year and have yet to catch a Walleye... Lake is huge!!! Caught a few nice Pike however...

notagoodtroutfisher
03-31-2010, 03:45 PM
I grew up fishin this lake. Head to Indian Point (rock point on south side) for late mrning walleye.
Then fish the reeds near turtle lodge for pike in the late afternoon

horton213
03-31-2010, 04:13 PM
sounds like a plan.. what do you use??

notagoodtroutfisher
03-31-2010, 06:16 PM
we always used 3-4" yellow jig, with a small piece of deer heart/beef heart. you can get the beef hearts at grocery stores. Or a piece of smelt would work too.

benamen
03-31-2010, 09:30 PM