PDA

View Full Version : Looking for boat advice

BigIrv
04-02-2010, 05:02 PM
Okay, I have a 12' fibreglass tri-hull boat. It is too heavy for me to move
around by myself. I want to get something lighter (and maybe shorter) to use for small lakes.

Do I go with a 12' aluminum v-hull?
or
Do I go with a 10 or 12' jon boat?

I have never used a jon boat before, but they look much easier to
slide in and out of the box of a pickup and some of the 10' are less than 100 lbs.

Going to propel the boat either by trolling motor or by oars.

Thoughts, opinions, experiences?

Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks guys!

jusfloatin
04-02-2010, 06:36 PM
10' Jon-boats are a 1 man boat and match that up with a 36lbs Minnkota and you have yourself probably the best pond boat around.

12' Jon-boats are more of a two man but even then they are tippy.

Deep-V boats generaly have wider bottoms which make them less tippy but much heavyier than the Jon-boats

Depends what you needs are.

If it just you get yourself a 1036 Jon they weigh less than 80lbs. As a side note the older the Jon-boat the better the quality.

Here is a picture of one I just sold.

floppychicken
04-02-2010, 09:41 PM
...that I'd buy EITHER of those boats. I'd invest in a INFLATABLE from 'Boatstogo', RubberDuck or one of those vendors....

Those boats are good in everything from calm still waters to 5 foot rollers and they DO NOT TIP. Also, you put a 40 - 50 lb MinnKOTA or similar on their and you'll leave little WAKES behind you! Very little resistance with those things. You want to put an engine on? Things things will take a 25hp OB no PROBLEM.

$1300.00 Bucks will ship a 12' footer RIGHT to your door, complete with 'FLOOR' Re-Inforced Transom, 18" Tubes, Full Strake, 1100 Denier, 2 Oars, Eyes, 3+1 Chamber, Stainless D-Rings, Pump, etc, etc...