PDA

View Full Version : Fishing in Uclulet and size of the boat questions.

plinker
05-02-2010, 02:45 PM
The Sgt. Major and I are planning on fishing Uclulet this year for our 25 Anniversary in later part of August. We have a 1965 Grumman AeroCruiser (enclosed) 16.5 foot boat with an 85 HP Johnson and a 10 HP Honda 4 stroke kicker. Is this the kind of boat that would do ok on the ocean? I have no intention of wandering far from shore once we get past the point but wonder of this is too small a boat for what we plan. Any idea's? My boating experience is from all the years we lived and fished on Kootenay Lake. Big storms, rough rides. The boat handled well but that ain't the ocean right!!

Fishingnutter
05-02-2010, 03:08 PM
I've extensive sal****er experience and my spidey senses tell me that you should post an ad for someone/local experienced with conditions in and around Uculet and have them as your captain. There are so many things to factor in when on the water. I once helped a family out that somehow got their downrigger line caught in their prop just as a tide surge occured, what started as somewhat comical, escalated into panic. All ended well. Another time while navigating through a fog, I came upon a craft with no compass, in a shipping lane nonetheless,, and towed people who had no PFD's on board,, and helped daytrippers dislodge a log from their prop. I'm not saying that you are inexperienced, but the sea brings many a suprise even to us seasoned folk.

Osama Bin Fishing
05-02-2010, 03:25 PM
You could get away with fishing that sized boat in Barcley Sound, but I wouldn't even consider taking it past the surfline on any but the most bluebird of days, and then not far. What you should consider is somewhere further into the sound for that sized vessel.

Toquart Bay, Bamfield, Poett Nook would be perfect for that size boat. Close to protected fishing grounds and not overly exposed like the mouth of