PDA

View Full Version : Brook Stickleback Sightings

cskremer
05-06-2010, 03:58 PM
Hi,

I am a researcher at the University of Calgary, starting a project on brook stickleback. I am currently looking for lakes which contain them, so I can sample multiple populations. If you know of a lake, or have a lake on your land which you know to contain brook stickleback, please contact me. I would appreciate any information that you may be able to provide me. Thank you very much!

-Cory
cskremer@ucalgary.ca

go-big-or-go-home
05-06-2010, 04:08 PM
I think i read buffalo lake east of red deer had a stickleback population

turnpike
05-06-2010, 05:03 PM
u are correct go-big, go-home. Buffalo lake does have brook stickleback.

FishingForLife
05-06-2010, 05:36 PM
You can find Brook Stickleback almost every where in this province. But one lake I know of that has quite the Stickleback, is Marl Lake in Kananaskis at the Elkwood Campground. Just follow the trail.

BrainTan
05-06-2010, 06:46 PM
Just about every body of water has them, even reportings of finding them in artesian wells

uicehole
05-07-2010, 10:55 PM
Highly unlikely any one of us can recognize your brooks from the other 2 or 3 other stickleback species in Alberta. I know I don't know the diff. There are sticklebacks in Cow lake, Tay lake, possibly Rat (including hugh population of chubs), Birch, etc. Another one of these live baits that idiots like to transplant. Best of luck with your research.

maddwapper
05-11-2010, 07:50 PM
could you show a picture ive seen lots of stickle backs in lots of lakes . thought they were all the same

noslack
05-11-2010, 07:58 PM
The Brook Stickleback will have 4 to 6 dorsal spines and the dorsal fin will be equal to the anal fin.

The Ninespine Stickleback has 7-11 dorsal spines and the dorsal fin will be equal to the anal fin aswell.