PDA

View Full Version : looking for some help,hints and tips

Dwb
05-26-2010, 08:58 AM
Hey guys and gals I'm new to calgary and fishing. I found this site and I have to say what a wonderfull help its been. I've been fishing the bow river just south of the weir with no luck. I've tried a spoon a couple different spinners and a two inch rainbow lure but nothing. Any advice would be great. Thanks

nicemustang
05-26-2010, 09:05 AM
Welcome to the forum. Hop you find it helpful.

I don't fish the bow at all (rarely) but it sounds like you're doing the right thing. Maybe just location?? Maybe at this time of year the water is high and muddy due to the run-off, that might be a factor as well. What spots have you tried?

jeprli
05-26-2010, 11:21 AM
Either come in the morning just before sunrise or evening, an hour or two before it gets really dark. Find a promising spot, wait for them to rise and then give them your offering. I was out last night for an hour or two, got 6 decent sized rainbows, be careful how you set your drag they hit hard on the hook.
BTW put on that little rainbow lure you have and hold on!
I like casting upstream just under the bank or behind a boulder and then twitch it back with a couple of 2-3 second pauses. Usually they hammer it on the pause.

http://i46.tinypic.com/zvx546.jpg

Dwb
05-26-2010, 08:07 PM
great thanks, ive been just between the weir and the blackfoot bridge, its only a few minutes from the house

nicemustang
05-27-2010, 08:13 AM
That's your problem. Are you fishing in the bird santuary? That area is closed until south of the blackfoot bridge.

Try further down at the Glemore bridge or fish creek park.

jeprli
05-27-2010, 08:42 AM