PDA

View Full Version : Trout Lakes near Lethbridge???

matt04
07-02-2010, 12:53 AM
I would like to go fishing tommorow somewhere close to Lethbridge but I am new to Lethbridge and I am not familiar with many of the lakes around here. I plan on fly fishing so I would like to go to a lake with trout, I have no idea how to fly fish for pike. Info would be great. Oh yeah, I fished Mcvinny on monday night and didn't catch anything over 8".

Pudelpointer
07-02-2010, 11:09 AM
Unfortunately there is nothing really close (besides a couple lakes within the city that have both trout and pike). If you don't mind a bit of a drive, there are a number of good trout lakes in the pass (Crowsnest) and to the south past Cardston.

What are you looking for? Big fish or something to eat?

gprime27
07-02-2010, 11:12 AM
There's a small trout pond on the westside of the city in riverstone. It's fairly easy to find. It's stocked with trout.

Westside lake has Brown trout and eastern brook trout.

Fly fishing for pike is fun. Find a red and white streamer (whole sale sports) and go to town on henderson or the westside lake. Guranteed to find a whole slew of them :)

matt04
07-02-2010, 11:50 AM
been to all the lakes in town, think I'm going to fish police lake today. My buddy told me about it and said it is a trophy lake. anyone fished it latley

Pudelpointer
07-02-2010, 12:45 PM
Fished Police a month or so back, not a lot going on. There are a few decent fish starting to show up, but I think it will be another year or so before your chances of catching a 20 are anything but slim.