PDA

View Full Version : Good rod for 8 year old/Rod maintenance.

Urban Nightmare
07-19-2010, 08:35 AM
I got my son's rod at the same Canadian Trash as I got my rod. Mines a Total Tackle trout rod spin caster and works nicely for a single bearing rod. His is a cheap "Just Add Water" spin caster. When we where fishing Dillberry this past week we noticed that his was getting harder to reel in. I'm thinking of just replacing his rod and reel with a better one. Does anyone out there have any tips as to what a brand or size of rod I should get for him? If I gave him my 6' 6", would that be to big for him?

Also we where waist deep in water this past week and the reel was under water a bit. Should I take the reel apart and grease anything or should I do any other maintenance to the reels to keep them in good working order.

As you may have guessed I'm a bit new to fishing.

Thanks
Urban.

Geezle
07-19-2010, 08:53 AM
It sounds to me like the rod might still be okay but it's the reel that's giving you trouble. I'm not sure of your situation but if budget is a concern for now you could just replace the reel and keep the rod he's using now...especially if the rod is a good size for him, and then if you want you can replace the rod down the road.

At 8 years old you should be able to teach him how to use a spinning reel without too much trouble. I have a couple inexpensive Daiwa reels that would be good for learning on...one is the Sweepfire and it's around $20 and the other is the Crossfire, which is around $30. They're nothing fancy but they've been pretty reliable for me :) The Sweepfire is a smaller reel, and honestly, I think it's smoother reeling than the Crossfire.

If you're looking at getting him a new rod, I'd look at a shorter Ugly Stik...I believe there's also an Ugly Stik Jr. line that might be closer to his size. They're decent rods, and most importantly for you young'uns, they stand up to a good beating :)

nicemustang
07-19-2010, 08:54 AM