PDA

View Full Version : ok, so whats so "Albertan" about this?

AK47
08-13-2010, 11:29 AM
So I was on vacation in Saskatchewan at Meadows lake provincial park. One day I took all my family to little Otter lake for some fun pike fishing for kids. After arriving at lake I found that there was big truck left blocking access to the lake even if there was plenty of room to park around. Never mind this as I can launch my Porta-bote almost anywhere so I start setting things up and then I hear barking and whining from inside the truck. Peaked through the window inside and there is dog left in the kennel in the middle of the day +25C, not a small space of single window open. As a small animal vet I know how dangerous that can be so I start looking for owner ( no cell phone reception so I can't call anybody). Sure enough on the other end of the lake I see a canoe. So after I get my boat and kids ready we get on the lake, approach middle age couple fishing from canoe and ask if it is their truck. They answer yes, and I remind them about dog being left in the car with windows closed. The man answers, oh " it is ok it is only for about 30 min or so" ... well, I remind him again that 90 min in the car in this temperature and his dog will be most likely dead. He gets a bit annoyed by that and repeats that it is only about 30 min or so. So I move away from him and we start fishing with kids.... Dude doesn't even bother rushing to his car and still keeps fishing for about 15-20 more minutes and then I see him getting of the lake :sign0176:. Since I saw the dog in the car at least 40 min passed and who knows how long that owner was already on the lake before we arrived.
Anyway, after finishing my fishing I came back to my car and found a written note on my car from him which said this: " we were joking that you must be from Alberta and indeed you are! Have a nice stay in Saskatchewan!":confused: