PDA

View Full Version : pickeral rigs?

Christofficer
08-21-2010, 03:02 AM
I like to fish for burbot during late fall. I was wondering what a good setup you guys have for casting smelt? I've been doing this for about 4 years now, and am just wondering if there's a better way than I do it. I'm not a fan of pickeral rigs....at all..... the line that comes packaged with the hooks is way too thick for me, those things are an abomination really with all those wires and crap. And I only hook up one smelt at a time anyway. Previously I've been snelling my own hooks, and tying that to a 3 way swivel with a tin bell sinker on the end.

I'm gonna swing by the store next week and need some recommendations on types of hooks that will hold my smelt on better. Also some advice on how to atttach the smelt would be good too.

PS: I'm no expert bait fisherman, my skills with lures and flies far surpass my bait using techniques by a long shot. Can you tell? :budo:

EDIT: I almost forgot...

I'm gonna buy a new reel as well. I bought a spinning combo at can-tire a few months ago on sale (lost my lucky one when I moved :( ), the rod is good, but the reel sucks. It doesn't hold enough line (maybe at best 110 yards of 8lb fluoro), the drag is terrible on a good day, and it's ugly/cheap feeling. the only good part is the rod. I just want a plain colored reel that holds a decent amount of line with a decent drag system. Without spending too much money. Can anyone recommend anything for me?

mulecrazy
08-21-2010, 03:37 AM