PDA

View Full Version : First Walleye!

Andrew
09-06-2010, 07:02 PM
Had a nice day out fishing at mcgregor today, went out looking for some pike, and ended up catching my first two walleye, and two little pike.

There were also a fair amount of fish jumping around us, i wonder a bit if they're trout or whitefish because you wouldn't think they'd be swimming around with predator fish like walleye and pike swimming around, does anyone know what species theese fish might be?

Thanks!

WayneChristie
09-06-2010, 07:14 PM
Congratulations on your first eyes.! We were at Travers today and saw fish rising too, kind of leaning towards whitefish but I could be wrong.

Andrew
09-06-2010, 07:19 PM
Im leaning towards rainbows cause these fish were coming clean out of the water, but i threw a grasshopper i caught on my hook and didnt get anything with it.

Ken07AOVette
09-06-2010, 09:17 PM
Good for you Andrew!!!

I have been fishing Pike and Perch for close to 40 years now, have never caught a walleye.

Chris84
09-06-2010, 09:40 PM
Congrats on your first walleyes!!! Like Wayne, I am leaning towards whitefish. Only reason I don't think they would be trout is that there are extremely few trout left in Mcgregor (I could be wrong though, I haven't caught a rainbow in there for about 5 years). There are however, lots of whitefish.

Chris

BobLoblaw
09-06-2010, 10:07 PM
Well done, Andrew; congratz on your first walleye. I bet there will be plentyy more 'eyes to come for ya!

walking buffalo
09-06-2010, 11:43 PM
Sweet catch! My best day for walleye at MacGregor is One.

Thanks for the pics.

BrownBear416
09-06-2010, 11:45 PM
Well done Andrew :sHa_shakeshout:

Rockymtnx
09-07-2010, 12:10 AM
Congrats on your Walleye Andrew.
That didn't take you long.

cpppark
09-07-2010, 05:20 AM
Nice catch there Andrew!

Geezle
09-07-2010, 06:50 AM
Nice work Andrew! :cool: