PDA

View Full Version : ear damage in bird dogs

kokanee83
09-24-2010, 05:43 AM
I took my dog out to retrive for me last night for the first time. While he did great the after effects wernt so good. I noticed after the third duck he wasnt listening wouldnt even acknowledge me when i called him back. we got one more bird after that but it was a trial getting him back. I chalked it up to excitment and we went home. after we got home i noticed agian he wasnt listening wouldnt respond to anything "treats" "go for walk" i even tried jingling his leash nothing. Im taking him to the vet this afternoon to have his ears checked. How many of you have had there dogs go deaf from gunshots? is this common? what have you done to prevent this?

Doodle30
09-24-2010, 07:33 AM
Hey

While I have no experience with is I know it does happen.

My dog and I took a hunt training class earlier this year and the trainer in the class said that his 8 year old had some hearing issues. He said that being shoot over for 8 years was starting to take an effect. Dog still responded well but he said that he has seen the hearing change over time.

For this to happen the first time seems very odd to be.

Good luck to you and the dog.

WildCanuck
09-24-2010, 07:47 AM
I agree with Doodle. It will have the same effect as it does on a human. Long term gun blasts will damage your hearing if you don't wear hearing protection. I'm sure a dog can get ringing ears like we can as well, but that's short term.
I always set up my dog and her blind behind me at a 45 degree angle from my shoulder so that I can still see her but so she is slightly protected from the muzzle blast.
WildCanuck

DuckBrat
09-24-2010, 08:12 AM
Good thread,

My last Springer Spaniel was completely deaf by 12. This time around my brother suggested cotton in the ears for a little help, dogs can still hear you but deadens the blast.

sjemac
09-24-2010, 10:03 AM