PDA

View Full Version : Elk hunting sans calling

botwood
09-24-2010, 06:01 PM
I'm new to elk hunting and wonder what are my chances for a successful hunt without using or knowing how to use calls.

outbackpat
09-24-2010, 06:07 PM
A great call to have is the hoochie mama. Use it as you travel into your hunting area, try to mask any sound's that you make like snapping branches. If there's any elk in the area and they hear the hoochie mama they'll think your just one of them. Good luck!

botwood
09-24-2010, 06:11 PM
A great call to have is the hoochie mama. Use it as you travel into your hunting area, try to mask any sound's that you make like snapping branches. If there's any elk in the area and they hear the hoochie mama they'll think your just one of them. Good luck!

Is it difficult to use, I have never used any calls in the past so...

Also I forgot to mention I'll be using a rifle on my hunt vs a bow

brookpowell
09-24-2010, 06:20 PM
No the hoochie mam is easy. its hand held and you just squeeze the base. it does the rest itself. super easy

botwood
09-24-2010, 06:24 PM
Does it immitate a bull or cow, or any behavior in particular ?

Grizzly Adams
09-24-2010, 06:38 PM
There's always spot and stalk or having a stand, where the elk are likely to feed. Calling can be pretty hit and miss, since everybody and his dog is out doing it and the rut will be over in a week or two.
Grizz

brookpowell
09-24-2010, 06:41 PM
its a cow elk call. The one I have has 3 or 4 different settings. Pretty sweet little call. And I think it retails for 50ish. Primos makes it I beleive.

botwood
09-25-2010, 08:03 AM
Thanks for the advice, I bought a Hoochie Mama last night.

Grizzly Adams
09-25-2010, 08:34 AM
Thanks for the advice, I bought a Hoochie Mama last night.

Haven't tried mine on elk yet, but I'm curious, how the Ya Ha Tinda wolves will appreciate it, when I do the lost cow thing. :lol:

Grizz

botwood
09-25-2010, 08:38 AM