PDA

View Full Version : Going on my first hunting trip!!

jessibobessy
09-27-2010, 09:31 AM
So Dad & I have decided we are going hunting down in 402 on Fri/Sat/Sun this weekend and I am soooo excited! :sHa_shakeshout: It's my first time hunting and I picked up my tags for elk and whitetail on the weekend. We are taking up horses and going to set up a camp somewhere in the woods (dad knows where we're going, but not me). I haven't ever camped in the mountains this late in the year so I'm a little worried about freezing my butt off. Any advice on how to make my first hunting trip go well and be enjoyable?

And what kinds of foods are good to take with us? Since we'll be packing in, it's not quite the same as having a camper with a fridge and stove. But I'm thinking a thermos with chili or soup would be good. And also coffee that we can reheat over the fire if we need to.. don't know if that's plausible though. Thanks!

Jess

sheephunter
09-27-2010, 09:36 AM
Wow, you must be some excited. Good luck out there. I'd tell you to have fun but there's no way you can't. Just enjoy the experience. Take lots of pictures!

Rockymtnx
09-27-2010, 09:41 AM
Well I am sure you will have fun and enjoy your trip.
Like SH said, take lots of pics. Hopefully you will have a few to share with us when you get back.
Good luck out there!

aulrich
09-27-2010, 10:15 AM
Layers, layers and more layers, did I mention layers. The temp swings are going to be wild if the weather holds and it is nice. Cold first thing to who knows how hot.

I never hunted off horseback myself that sounds like fun just for that.

There might be times whenit is tough and misserable a positive attitude will help get you through.

Take lots of picture and have lots of fun.

FishBrain
09-27-2010, 10:39 AM
If this is your first time hunting I am sure you will have a great time no matter what. My advise is listen carefully to everything your old man tells you!!!
Relax, and enjoy the time out there.