PDA

View Full Version : is the elk rut over???

monsterxlr8
09-27-2010, 03:40 PM
I am new to Elk hunting, and hunting in general. I have only got three seasons under my belt. In the past three seasons I have managed to hang my tags on some nice whitetails.... but this year I am trying my hand at the elusive elk. I have been spending my time out west of rimbey. seeing lots of dropings and tracks, but not much in the way of scrapes or rubbed trees. In the last two weeks I have spent 10 evenings out looking and listening, with no results. so i was woundering if some how I have managed to miss the rut this year, or is it going to start up here right away?:sign0176: Getting a little frusterating but as they say if it was easy everyone would do it!!!

hunter tyson
09-27-2010, 03:46 PM
thats a question i wish i could answer too, however last week i did get a bull to come to the call, unfortunatly hes somewhwere with a hole in him and not in the freezer

crashtested
09-27-2010, 03:50 PM
i bugled in a nice 6 point yesterday but already had one in the freezer

Scotty P.
09-27-2010, 04:00 PM
I've been told that the rut happens around the first week of September but just this past Saturday we were out looking for Whitetails just as we started in, we could hear 3 bulls calling back and forth. My buddies father managed to get between 2 of the bulls (only 1 that was legal) but it was really thick bush. I was about 30 yards behind him just waiting for a shot to ring out but he never did get a clean shot. Definately disapointing but never the less a great hunt and rush!

Grizzly Adams
09-27-2010, 06:05 PM
I've called bulls as late as Thanksgiving, but I think it's more out of curiosity, than mating desire.
Grizz

sheephunter
09-27-2010, 06:07 PM
They were still going hard in Banff yesterday. Likely most of the cows have breed by now so the competition really heats among the bulls. Best time tro bugle from now until early October IMHO.

pottymouth
09-27-2010, 06:10 PM