PDA

View Full Version : mule deer HELP!!

archercurt
09-29-2010, 08:12 AM
so here is the deal, i watched this mule deer for like 2 months before season and ive been trying my hardest to get within that 50 yard mark but he seems to bust me EVRY time, that or hes out in the middle of a cut canola field or hes on posted land. this is my first year with a bow and am really excited about my first archery deer. hes a dandy buck and he is there literaly evry day and he dosnt have a problem standing just out of range and just letting me admire him (wishing it was rifle season). there is a half section on either side of the road with not alot of tree cover and he generally dosnt wonder too far off that land. I cant imagine that some of you havnt had this same problem and im really just looking for some pointers as to how to get that little edge on him. i had him at 22 yards 3 days ago but on the wrong side of the fence :thinking-006:. any time he is on my side either a doe sees me or he does :sign0176:

Eze
09-29-2010, 08:25 AM
Thats why it is called Hunting. Patience, patience and one day it will be in your favour

Jrbiggamehunter
09-29-2010, 08:44 AM
If you have been watching for 2 months you should know where he is moving. Set up wait for him to walk in front of you and stick a arrow in him.

HillTophunter
09-29-2010, 10:24 AM
I was watching a Primos hunting video the other day and the guys were out stalking Mule's with their bows. They gave a good tip which im going to try to get in close. Bring a couple extra pairs of thick socks, and when its time to start closing in take your boots off and put the socks on and it quiets your footsteps. Or like others have said, if you watched him for awhile you should know the general direction he heads when your outt. So find a nice spot that he strolls by and you should be able to get a good shot.

good luck!

archercurt
09-29-2010, 10:57 AM