PDA

View Full Version : Power Auger Options for Wimps?

DarkAisling
10-10-2010, 07:10 AM
I've never used a power auger before: electric or gas. I'd like to get one this year, but I'm really at a loss as to what I should be looking at.

I'm not very strong, and I have some concerns about being able to safely manage a power auger.

Any suggestions?

calgarygringo
10-10-2010, 07:19 AM
I have a 10 inch Jiffy i have for years and works great especially when I remember to sharpen it up when it gets dull. Yes it torques you pretty well. Check with Will as I think he bought one of the lighter ones last year. Remember as well the bigger the hole the harder for wimps to get through. If you are doing perch and small trout, smaller is fine but if you are going for big gators go for the biggun.

Kim473
10-10-2010, 07:53 AM
An 8" is not bad. I'v never tried a 10" tho

Winch101
10-10-2010, 08:22 AM
I have a new 4 stk Strikemaster ...just add gas ...nice

weighs 17 lbs. , cuts like adarn , starts easy...I got it cause I have arthritis

my ice days may be numbered will give you a heck of a deal ...

still in box .... Look them up on WSS web site Strikemaster Strikelite

17 lbs , I think my last Jiffy weighed 40 ...so this is like a an appliance.

W101

perchfinder
10-10-2010, 08:34 AM
the 8" strikelite is 23 pounds. dont know the price though. the 8" husqvarna is quite pricey, i think $800 + , but its on my shopping list already because it weighs in at 13 pounds! it sounds underpowered from checking out the specs but i seen it perform like no other. wow just think of how many holes you can drill and still have energy to fish! :sHa_shakeshout:

DarkAisling
10-10-2010, 08:38 AM