PDA

View Full Version : Snow tires in SUV

shekaree
10-22-2007, 01:41 PM
I am new in Alberta and I want to know if we REALLY need Snow tires here? I have Toyota Rav4 SUV with "M + S" (Mud and Snow) tires on them right now, will they be good enough for snow? and how much snow do we get in Alberta?

Versatile
10-22-2007, 01:44 PM
Snow depends on location. Lastyear up north I remember seeing pictures of quad burried yet down here in the south it there wasnt very many days where we had more than a few inches.

TreeGuy
10-22-2007, 02:25 PM
Shekaree, what area are you located in, and what kind of snow are you used to? It makes a difference. I've seen pics from my buddies that went across to Newfoundland for a snowmoblie trip. In one pic I asked him what that thin yellow stip was that they had their sled parked on and the answer was, "School bus!":lol:

I'm in Calgary and all seasons will do ya since a big dump is rare. What does happen here though is that the streets can get pretty icy due to the large amount of sunshine hours we annually get as well as chinook fluctuations that cause melt/freeze cycles throughout the day/night. As long as you become aware that most people DO NOT change out to snow tires here, coupled with some unbelievably bad driving habits you should be allright. Beware intersection because of this. I can't even begin to tell you how many times my truck has actually GAINED speed while braking for a 4-way stop due to people repeatly slaming on the 'binders' and glazing it. Leave tons of room and time and you'll be fine. Good luck and welcome to the best place in the world to live!:wave:

Tree

shekaree
10-22-2007, 03:10 PM
I am in Edmonton now and I have driven in snow a lot in Minneosta. I have seen black ice and slippery roads before but not seen Alberta snow yet so not sure how bad it gets here.