PDA

View Full Version : Butchers... dumb question time

Okotokian
10-23-2007, 10:48 AM
OK, so this is my first year of big game hunting... got the gun, sighted it in, got the tags, doing some scouting now... So say I get lucky enough to bag something, then what? I gut it (can't be THAT much harder than a duck LOL).... then?

What do you have to do to prepare a deer to take to a butcher? Not knowing how to skin or cut one up, I'd like to do as little as possible (at least to start).

Also, any suggestions as to where to take it in Calgary or south (I'm in Okotoks, as the name implies). And what might it cost, ballpark? I'm totally in the dark.

TheClash
10-23-2007, 11:08 AM
have never used them, but longview makes great jerky and very close to you...

honda450
10-23-2007, 11:21 AM
Okie its easier then you think. Lots of videos out there on the net, and you will save alot of money. The more you do it the easier it gets. You still can have sausage and pepproni made up as well. I think the going price is about 45- 50 cents a pound delivered weight. And then there might be a bone disposal fee and then any sausage or pepperoni is on top of that. This is ball park as I never take one in.

Redfrog
10-23-2007, 12:24 PM
Yep it's so easy even a caveman can do it.:lol: :lol:

You really should do as much as you can yourself. I can't help you with a butcher, but I may be able to with dressing it. all I can say about a butcher is check for receiving times. If you get home at 10 at night, will they accept night drop off. Some do have 24 hour service for drop off.

As far as field dressing, it is not much different than a duck.:D

I use the gutless method a lot, especially for large animals. But in the beginning try this.