PDA

View Full Version : Insight to fishing in Mazatlan

summit151
02-01-2011, 12:21 PM
We are heading to Mazatlan on Friday. We would like to do some fishing while we are there. I was wondering if anyone would be able to provide me with some insight pertaining to which charter to go with, what to expect/watch out for and what type of fish are in season. Any feed back is very much appreciated.

aulrich
02-01-2011, 01:53 PM
I am heading down next month we were going to go to PV but Mazatlan caught our eye because of the number of fishing options it has. I will be going down rigged to surf fish, our resort is out of town so the idea of wandering a beach with a fishing rod is too appealing. This is my first time out there so I have no direct experience but your general options are:

Bass fresh water
Surfcasting
Panga (small inshore fishing) and might need your own gear not sure
Offshore

Last time I got on to a party boat in PV but catching pike sized fish with boat winches was underwealming.

WABBIT
02-01-2011, 05:49 PM
When I fished Mazatlan years ago Bill Heimpel's Starfleet was the best charter outfit. They gave you your moneys worth and the equipment was well maintained. You might want to go down to the sportfishing dock around 2oclock in the afternoon and see what is coming in, and check them out. They didn't book through beach vendors, when I was last there. Good luck

seahawkfisher
02-01-2011, 08:23 PM