PDA

View Full Version : Reloading Info

PatF
02-13-2011, 12:29 PM
Hi, I'm new to this forum as I am new to reloading, I was wondering if I made the right powder and primer choice for reloading 300 win mag ammo. I checked out the Hogdon web site and reloading data and decided on the Hogdon H4831 rifle powder and my gunsmith gave me large rifle primers, at the time I wasn't aware that there were "magnum primers" and I have Hornady 165 gr interlock bullets, is this combination ok, if not what should I change, I've been reading manuals and on-line info and depending on where you look you get different information. also I just got a 243 win that I'm going to be making my own loads for I already have the cases and bullets (Hornady interlock 95 gr) any advice on powder and primers. The only powder I can get in stock is hogdon but my gunsmith can order others.
I know some of you will say read the manuals but believe me I have read a few and a boat load of reloading info on-line at powder and bullet manufacturer sites plus reloading sites, so I just think at this point to get info from some of you with experience is the best way to go right now.
I haven't started reloading yet but I have all the gear including what I've mentioned, just waiting for some warm weather. (no basement or heated shed :( )

elkhunter11
02-13-2011, 12:41 PM