PDA

View Full Version : Heater inside ice tent

Danorn
02-22-2011, 08:15 PM
I am new to ice fishing inside a hut and wondering about using a Mr Heater inside for heat. I know it puts out carbon monoxide and I am just a bit concerned about this fact. I realize the tent has vents and doors and is not insulated, but are there any issues I need to watch other than the obvious such as burning down the tent or our feet? Tks for any input.

Daniel

iliketrout
02-22-2011, 08:21 PM
If it's burning cleanly(getting enough oxygen) it shouldn't be producing much (if any) CO, but mainly CO2. Just make sure to have a small vent or window open to get a little fresh air for it. I usually jump in and out of the tent numerous times and it's never been an issue for me.

Some of the Mr Heater Buddy heaters have CO shutoff (and tip over shut off) if you're looking for added safety features.

Danorn
02-22-2011, 08:27 PM
tks for the quick response. I am taking an older gentleman with a bit of copd, so I was just hoping my heater wouldn't cause him any breathing troubles. We, hopefully, will be having to go to the weigh station lots to get out as well. I will keep it vented for sure. Again tks

WayneChristie
02-22-2011, 08:31 PM
Shouldnt be much problem, I have a bit of a lung issue, and if it starts to get a bit stuffy I open the door a little bit and its ok. most tents have windows you can open also, usually you can open the plastic and just put the covering over most of the opening if you want more air

Danorn
02-22-2011, 08:47 PM
Thanks guys for easing my concerns. We can't wait now to get out and stay warm on the ice. :fishing:

Daniel

iliketrout
02-22-2011, 08:56 PM
Not exactly sure what copd is but I have mild Asthma and I've never had problems.

For added comfort for your older guest, consider a piece of carpet or something similar to get his feet off the ice. His feet will stay much warmer and he'll be a lot more comfortable.