PDA

View Full Version : apprentice question

mike780
02-26-2011, 11:51 PM
Company is looking at hiring me on but they have no Journeyman and im still a 4th year apprentice... can they do that? what would happen if i took the job,would i still be able to go to school to finish my program???

im kinda confused at this point what todo.

should i just take my box and :scared0018:

any help would be great.... ill be phoning apprenticeship board monday.

catnthehat
02-26-2011, 11:52 PM
What's your trade?
If it's a compulsory trade, I don't think so, but if it's a non mandatory trade, yup.
Depending on the how the company is set up they can get around the JM deal as well, if someone in the company holds a ticket, like the foreman, etc.

Cat

mudbug
02-26-2011, 11:55 PM
Phone the apprentice board, they're the only ones who can tell you for sure. If your not comfortable talking to them have a friend phone for you about it :)

ww2269
02-27-2011, 12:02 AM
Of course they can still hire you. The only catch is that i dont think they can credit you your aprenticeship hours for you for your time worked there unless they have a J-man somewhere in the company.:)

mike780
02-27-2011, 12:03 AM
What's your trade?
If it's a compulsory trade, I don't think so, but if it's a non mandatory trade, yup.
Depending on the how the company is set up they can get around the JM deal as well, if someone in the company holds a ticket, like the foreman, etc.

Cat

heavy equipment tech

mike780
02-27-2011, 12:05 AM
almost positive there is no JM in the company

catnthehat
02-27-2011, 12:09 AM
heavy equipment tech

Not a compulsory trade, automotive is however.
You can get your hours credited, they just have to stamp your book.
Cat

MK2750
02-27-2011, 07:54 AM
Not a compulsory trade, automotive is however.
You can get your hours credited, they just have to stamp your book.
Cat