PDA

View Full Version : Ice Conditions?

Rudy198
11-29-2007, 08:46 PM
was wondering if anyone has been out ice fishing or check it out.How thick is the ice approx.Also does anyone know any good lakes withih an hour drive from Edmonton to go and try....I fished only 1 lake for trout in the summer and there's no fishing for the winter on it.I would really like to get out and try someplace if anyone is looking for a guy to go with,i'm game...

jrs
11-29-2007, 08:54 PM
I'm new to Central Alberta ice fishing wise but i'd say Coal Lake has got to be a good bet. I know Bucklake has lots of fish as well, that may be worth a try. I'd be going icefishing Saturday but i have to pick up all my gear still (figured i'd get it when taking my deer south, didn't get one). I'm looking forward to trying a bunch of new lakes this year. gotta get out to Cow, Pine, Sylvan, Buck, Coal, and a few little trout lakes out towards Caroline. Should be fun.

boomstick
11-29-2007, 09:34 PM
sent e-mail:cool:

Bear Ballz
11-30-2007, 05:46 AM
Coal lake had 4-5" on Monday. I'd drilled a couple holes at either end.

-NDN-
11-30-2007, 07:06 AM
....I fished only 1 lake for trout in the summer and there's no fishing for the winter on it.I would really like to get out and try someplace if anyone is looking for a guy to go with,i'm game...

you must be talking about Muir........

im headed out this weekend, ill se how I do and then see whats up for inviting peeps next weekend. No sense inviting people to join me falling through thin ice, LOL!!!

wildman
11-30-2007, 08:42 AM
hey NDN!!!!!!!!!!
we were out last weekend and there was 4" of good, HARD ice!!!!
add 1 week of mentally cold weather and you have nothing to worry about.
as long as you don't plan on doing any cross-the-middle-of-the-lake races of course!!!!
good luck dawg.
hope you slay!!!
i personally am waiting for warmer weather!!!!

-NDN-
11-30-2007, 01:17 PM
hey NDN!!!!!!!!!!
we were out last weekend and there was 4" of good, HARD ice!!!!